Some basic information to help you understand Cub Scouts

From a National perspective, Scouting is divided into counties, which are then sub divided into districts. Within the districts there are  usually a number Scout Groups. Each Group has a Group Scout Leader, Executive Committee, Leaders and assistant leaders, dependant upon which sections are hosted by the Group.

What is a Scout Group?

A Scout Group serves a geographic area of the District (e.g. Orford, Padgate etc,)

What is a Pack?

A troop is the term used to describe the Scout section of a Group, a Group may have more than one Troop.

What is a Six?

The Pack is sub-divided into Sixes, each Six has a Leader, known as a Sixer.  There are normally 6 Cub Scouts in a Six (naturally)

What Does the Necker signify?

Each Group has a unique necker (also known as a scarf) and so the necker helps to identify which Group a Scout belongs to.

How old do you have to be to be a Cub Scout?

A Cub Scout is usually aged between 8 to 10½  years old

As an adult Leader, how can I help with training young leaders?

See our Young Leader Training section



Warr East map.jpg